honey and yogurt pancakes (gf)

20140420-104814.jpg

20140420-104824.jpg

20140420-104833.jpg

 

I decided to make my family some pancakes today for breakfast (and tested out my new Misto spray bottle thing oh yeah). Unfortunately, they did not like it and i was left with a huge stack of uneaten pancakes.

I’m not going to pretend this didn’t sadden me because it did – for two reasons. One, these pancakes took me over half an hour to make! Seriously. I can totally get why pancakes are kind of a “special” breakfast because these sure aren’t a low-maintenance kind of quick meal. And secondly, I’m upset because it actually tastes good! I swear to you, these pancakes taste perfectly fine and my family is just augh *throws hands up in the air*

Oh well, at least my lesson is learned: in the future, I’m making pancakes solely for myself.

This recipe will make 3 servings, or around nine (3-4 inch dia.) pancakes.

you will need:

  • 3/4 cups of flour**
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 3/8 tsp baking soda
  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup, 3tbsp. greek yogurt
  • 2 tbsp honey (or sub with agave nectar for vegan option)

instructions:

  • first combine the eggs, greek yogurt and honey in a large bowl
  • then use a separate, medium bowl to whisk together the flour, baking powder, and baking soda
  • slowly add in the wet ingredients into the dry, bit by bit and mix together
  • make sure don’t to not over mix!
  • heat up a non-stick frying pan and either spray it with cooking oil or grease well (this is essential, unless you want burnt pancakes)
  • put around 1 tbsp dollop of batter onto the pan at a time and cook on low-medium heat
  • wait until you see bubbles start to form, and then flip your pancake
  • add whatever toppings you’d like and voila – you’re done!

**note: i used organic, unbleached all-purpose flour, but you can sub. in oat flour for a gluten-free option or any other flour you’d wish in an equal ratio.

Leave a Reply

