4-ingredients, vegan banana pancakes (v, gf)

14131979296_a7ffb4681a_o

pancakes. ah. one of the major, classic american breakfasts. i’ve tried pancakes multiple times in the past (you can see two of my attempts here on my blog) and though my most recent attempts haven’t failed, I hadn’t found the combination that I really loved either. but today, for “pancake sunday” on instagram, I think I have found the recipe that works for me.

14131979346_059e525aed_o

granted, it’s incredibly simple. it only has 4 ingredients after-all, but I actually do enjoy the taste! and like I always say, that’s the most important part. the taste of your meal will always be, in my opinion, more important than the presentation – though, of course, having a nice plate isn’t something I readily dismiss either. now all i need to do is work on my pancake presentation skills, but at least I’m set for the actual flavor.

13966232408_25c2b4916b_o

simple, 4-ingredient banana pancakes / serves 1 (makes around five 3-inch diameter pancakes)

you will need:

  • 1/2 cup oat flour
  • 1/2 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 ripened banana (and more for garnish if you wish)
  • 1 tsp. baking powder (because I like my pancakes fluffy!)

the process:

  • mash up the half of your banana in a small bowl
  • combine the oat flour and the baking powder in separate bowl
  • pour half a cup of almond milk into the flour mixture**
  • stir so that all the flour is covered by the milk
  • add the mashed banana into the mixture and stir until just combined
  • heat a pan on high heat (until hot enough so that the oil sizzles when you spray it on)
  • grease well or spray with nonstick spray
  • put about 2 tbsp. of batter on at a time
  • wait for around 1 minute or until the batter starts to bubble and the bottom firms up
  • flip your pancake and wait for it to finish cooking on the other side
  • serve with the toppings of your choice

**note: I know putting wet into dry seems counter-intuitive, as most recipes require you to put the dry into the wet mixture, however it does work and the pancakes do turn out alright.

for some topping ideas, for this particular stack, I used kiwi, banana, and my peanut butter yogurt spread (post / recipe here). between each pancake lies a layer of the pb-greek yogurt blend with some banana slices on top. i also cut up a kiwi to have with this stack as well.

13968526960_0184a52d2d_o

Leave a Reply

