avocado + hummus on toast (vegan)

Processed with VSCOcam with t1 preset

I know I say this a lot, but this is seriously one of my most favorite combinations ever. whenever I have avocados and bread in my house, I just have to make this combo because it’s too good not to. i normally eat it as a spread on toast (like an open-faced sandwich), but recently, I’ve been arranging it like an actual sandwich and I have to say, it’s pretty darn good this way too.

13956022260_5d8a240958_o

fun fact: many people call this “smashed” avo on toast because of the lines the fork makes when you mash the avocado onto your piece of bread. i actually didn’t mean to put avocado and hummus together, but one day I had an abundance of both that I needed to get rid of eat quickly, so I just decided to slap this combination together as a quick breakfast. little did I know that i would fall in love with this savory combo.

13968531238_c3da33ba4e_o

 

like i said, you can eat this in sandwich form, or just as a “spread” on a piece of toast type of breakfast. either is super yummy!

avocado and hummus sandwich / serves 1

you will need:

  • 1/2 a ripe avocado
  • 2 tbsp hummus (homemade or store-bought)
  • 2 pieces of whole grain bread
  • salt or pepper, to taste (opt.)

the process:

  1. pop your bread into a toaster
  2. slice your avocado in half (we’ll only be using half for this)
  3. take a fork and start mashing up the avocado inside it’s “shell”
  4. spread a tbsp. of hummus on one of your pieces of toast
  5. spread half your mashed avocado onto the same piece of toast, on top of the hummus
  6. repeat with the other piece of toast
  7. either eat separately, or layer on top of each other for a sandwich.
  8. you may also add salt and pepper or lemon juice to give things more flavor if you wish.
3 thoughts on “avocado + hummus on toast (vegan)

Leave a Reply

