berrylicious watermelon smoothie (v, gf)

IMG_1075

 

what does a girl do when she has a huge bowl of freshly cut watermelon and a bunch of berries? make a smoothie of course!

IMG_1085

 

i almost always make my smoothies with almond milk or just plain water, but since I had so much watermelon in my fridge (summer fruit time – yes.) I decided to add that to my blender for the water content. and what a good idea that was! because I didn’t strain my watermelon “juice,” it was still pretty chunky and thick so my smoothie wasn’t really thinned out. i added approximately 1/4 cup of watermelon juice. and i’m using approximately very seriously here. In reality, I probably blended around 2-3 cups worth of watermelon, but I poured out most of it into the cup you see above, and left around 1/4 cup of substance in my blender.

IMG_1081

 

then i just added my normal ingredients (bananas, berries, etc.) and pressed blend! honestly, with smoothies, i find it best to just throw stuff in and go. you never know what kind of flavor combinations you might chance upon. i just kind of take what i have and just toss it in. the more variety, the better in my opinion! this is a pretty sweet smoothie, and it had a very pleasant consistency as well. i also used it as a topping on / used it to make my overnight oats and it complimented the taste perfectly.

berrylicious watermelon smoothie / serves 1

you will need:

  • 1/2 cup watermelon
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup strawberries
  • 1/2 cup blackberries
  • 4 medjool dates (or less, depending on level of sweetness you prefer)

the process:

  • cut your watermelon into chunks and soak your medjool dates in water if they’re hard
  • blend the watermelon first until smooth (you may strain the mixture to get “true” watermelon juice, or just leave it all in there like i did).
  • add in your frozen banana slices and blend
  • cut up / tear your softened dates into small pieces, add, and blend.
  • add your berries, a little at a time, and blend.
  • keep blending until it gets to the consistency you like.

IMG_1088

 

I used this as a “topping” on my overnight oats, the actual base of my overnight oats, as well as just enjoying it on it’s own. you can even add some spinach or other greens to make this a lovely green smoothie! I just thought the pink color was too pretty to ruin with the green heh. I hope you enjoy this smoothie!

 

Leave a Reply

